Protect why you love it here and provide public comment to the Gunnison County Planning Commission.  Public comments are due to the Commission staff by 5:00 p.m. on February 5.  Last week, HCCA and dozens of concerned Gunnison and Delta County residents submitted comments to the Gunnison County Planning Commission asking them to deny the permit.

Due to the overwhelming public comment, the Commission extended the public comment period and scheduled additional public testimony for Friday, February 6 at 9:00 a.m. at the Blackstock Government Center Meeting Room at 221 N. Wisconsin St. in Gunnison, across the street from the Post Office.

Please consider making the following comments and requests in your public comment letter. Feel free to add additional thoughts about why you love living, recreating, growing food, etc. in the area as well as your concerns about irresponsible oil and gas development.

  • Tell the Commission they should deny this proposal to ensure water, wildlife, and recreation are not substantially degraded by an industrialized landscape approved in a piecemeal fashion.
  • Ask the Planning Commission to require a Comprehensive Drilling Plan so the full size and scale of proposed operations in this area can be understood and considered in the decisionmaking process.
  • Tell the Commission to, at a minimum, adopt and require a closed containment system (tanks that are not open on the top) as well as timing and operating restrictions to provide wildlife with much needed safeguards.

Send your public comment letter via email to the Gunnison County Planning Commission c/o Neal Starkebaum, and copy the county commissioners and county attorney:

To: Neal Starkebaum, Assistant Director, Community Development Department, NStarkebaum@gunnisoncounty.org

CC: Commissioner Phil Chamberland, pchamberland@gunnisoncounty.org; Commissioner Jonathan Houck, jhouck@gunnisoncounty.org; Commissioner Paula Swenson, pswenson@gunnisoncounty.org; David Baumgarten, County Attorney, dbaumgarten@gunnisoncounty.org; Russ Forrest, Director, Community Development Department,  rforrest@gunnisoncounty.org

To access the application, go to http://www.gunnisoncounty.org/436/Permit-Database. Click on “Permit Database,” then “public access.”  Then click on “projects” then “application number” and fill in the text box with “OG-14-00004.”  Click on the row that pops up and then click on the tab called “Attachments” to access the application materials.

For more information contact: Alli Melton, Public Lands Director at 970.349.7104 ext. 2 or alli@hccaonline.org